Is Whey Protein Powder Gluten Free

How To Tell If Whey Protein Powder Is Gluten

Gluten Free Protein Powder, Whey Protein Isolate for Power Building: Gluten and Lactose Free

The best way to tell if whey protein powder is gluten-free is if it is certified by a third-party seal. This means that aside from the company and the USDA, it should also be claimed as gluten-free by organizations such as the Gluten-Free Certification Organization .

In the US, a whey protein powder is considered gluten-free if it was tested and certified to contain less than 20 million parts per million of gluten. The GFCO poses a stricter standard of less than 10 million ppm. Other than these certifications, there is no other way for you to know if a whey protein powder is gluten-free.

A Personal Message From The Founder

Family isnt an important thing, its everything. When my mom got sick, I knew that I had to put my familys health first. But I struggled to find products I could trust. Thats when I took matters into my own hands. When you buy from us, you should know that we believe in…

  • Real food without added chemicals.
  • Labels without lies.
  • People over profits.

Let us help you make your health and well-being a priority, with products and service you can trust.

When To Take Gluten

  • For Building Muscle

If you are a fitness buff, a protein shake 15-60 minutes after a strenuous workout session will work best for you. It will energize you and reduce muscle soreness.

  • For Weight Loss

Want to lose a couple of pounds? Consume a protein shake after every workout. You can have a protein shake after your meals if you dont work out. Research shows that its more effective in losing weight than having supplements with your meal.

Recommended Reading: Is Vegan Protein Better Than Whey

Gluten Free Protein Powder

Whether going gluten free was a choice or not, TPW Nutrition Experts will always have your back in providing the best tasting gluten free supplements. It’s time to say goodbye to nasty, lumpy, shakes and say hello to Insane Flavour, 100% natural Ingredients, and of course enough protein to get give your biceps or booty a boost.

Going gluten-free can become a bit of a chore having to look at the back of every packet just to double check it’s not going to cause you to make a quick exit to the nearest loo’s. That’s why we set up this part of the site, to make you relax and scroll through to your gluten-free heart’s content. You’d perhaps be surprised to learn that quite a lot of our protein shakes are gluten-free – from whey protein to casein protein you can make gains in the comfort that no gluten is within the shakes you buy. Just make sure you double check the ingredients

We also offer nutritional insights under every product we have, giving you peace at mind knowing what natural ingredients we use. Oh, and if that transparency isn’t enough, we also have a tab on the left-hand side to select allergens, you’re very welcome! And trust me when we say this, Gluten Free doesn’t mean Flavour Free, we’ve added our cutting-edge Flavour Boost technology to the recipes too, this why we are the leader of sports nutrition.

  • wasfrom £44.99from £24.99Quick Buy
  • wasfrom £26.99from £12.15Quick Buy
  • wasfrom £24.99from £19.99Quick Buy
  • wasfrom £24.49from £14.69Quick Buy
  • S To Find The Healthiest Protein Powder Without Dairy And Gluten

    Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein Powder, Gluten ...
  • Check the sugar content. Sugarno matter if its from cane honey, maple syrup, molasses, or coconutsturns to fat in your body. Eating too much sugar increases your risk of dying from heart disease too. I recommend avoiding all protein powders with added sugar. If your protein is gluten-free and dairy-free yet contains a bunch of sugar, that pretty much defeats the purpose of taking a protein powder. If you like it sweeter, blend your shake with a little fruit instead!
  • Find out which artificial sweeteners they use. Youll often discover fake sugars like saccharin, aspartame, acesulfame potassium, and sucralose in non dairy protein powder blends. To see some of the potential health effects of artificial sweeteners, check out this article from the Center for Science in the Public Interest. And theres good reason to be wary of the supposedly all-natural sweeteners too. Xylitol and erythritol are highly processed sugar alcohols that can cause gas, bloating, and gut imbalances. Xylitol also comes from genetically modified corn. Stevia leaf extract in its natural state is okay, but the stevia most food companies use is a chemically-altered, bleached, stripped down version thats likely to contain GMO fillers . Monk fruit is another all-natural sweetener that may be a good option for you. Again, just make sure there are no additional dairy-based fillers or additives, which is often the case. When in doubt, ask the company youre buying from!
  • Don’t Miss: How Much Is Too Much Protein On Keto

    Protein Powders To Avoid

    There are three popular protein powders that you shouldn’t consume if you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. They include:

    • Amazing Grass Plant Protein Superfood Powder. This product is advertised as gluten-free, but note that it contains wheat grass and barley grass, which are not gluten-free ingredients.
    • Garden of Life Raw Organic Shake and Meal Replacement. Again, this protein powder is advertised and labeled as gluten-free but contains wheat grass and barley grass.
    • Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard. This very popular protein powder does not contain any gluten ingredients, but does not test for gluten and therefore may be subject to gluten cross-contamination.

    Note that some protein powders include an ingredient listed as “glutamine.” This is not the same thing as gluten. Glutamine is an amino acid, not a protein from wheat, barley, or rye, and all of our bodies contain some glutamine. You don’t need to avoid products that include glutamine.

    In addition, some protein powders include maltodextrin as an ingredient. Maltodextrin is a sweetener, and it can be made from wheat.

    However, in the United States, maltodextrin most commonly is made from corn, rice, or potatoes, not wheat. In addition, maltodextrin is a highly processed ingredient, and many experts believe it doesn’t contain enough gluten to cause people to react, even when it is made from wheat.

    Is Whey Milk Gluten

    Essentially, yes. As a matter of fact, we have listed here some of the most reputable milk-based whey in the previous sections. But then again, flavored whey milk can be contentious as they may contain sweeteners and preservatives. If you are eyeing for gluten-free whey milk, buy only from certified products.

    Read Also: Is Vital Proteins Collagen Vegan

    Complete Vs Incomplete Proteins

    Proteins are made up of amino acids. There are 8 amino acids that the body cant produce and must come from dietor 9 if youre in infant, which you probably arent. These are called essential amino acids, and proteins that contain all 8 are called complete proteins.

    Most animal protein sources are complete proteins. This means that foods such as meats or whey, casein, or egg white protein powders are complete proteins.

    On the other hand, most plant-based protein sources are incomplete proteins, missing one or more essential amino acid. There are a few vegan foods that are complete protein sources, though, such as soy, hempseed, quinoa, certain types of peas and rice, and chia seeds.

    Note that some of these, such as hempseed, contain low levels of one or more essential amino acid. This means that although theyre complete, youll want to vary your protein sources to fill those weaknesses. So if you were taking hemp protein powder, you would want to ensure youre also incorporating quinoa, lentils, or another complete protein in your diet.

    Is Whey Gluten Free

    Whey Protein Pancakes | Gluten FREE

    The answer to is whey gluten-free is yes. In fact, whey is naturally gluten-free. This is because whey is essentially concentrated protein and naturally will not contain any gluten.

    Whey protein is created when milk is separated into two components, casein and whey. This is generally the by-product of cheese making. Whey is the watery part of the milk that separates from the curds.

    This whey is whats used to make the protein powders that are popular today as a supplement.

    Its important to know, that while whey itself contains no gluten, youre not out of the woods yet. This is because protein powders generally contain many other ingredients, like preservatives and sweeteners that might contain gluten.

    Another factor to consider if following a gluten-free diet is the prospect of cross-contamination within the factory where the whey protein powder is made.

    If there are other gluten-containing products made in the same factory, that same gluten could end up in an otherwise gluten-free product like whey protein powder.

    Don’t Miss: Are Herbalife Protein Bars Gluten Free

    Popular Gluten Free Protein Powder Brands

    Heres a quick look at the best gluten free protein powder brands for

    a) Body Fortress

    The protein powder by Body Fortress is marketed as a gluten free whey protein bran, formulated to bring you a blend of concentrate and isolate.

    Sure enough, it proudly flaunts its gluten-free label to ensure that its consumption is completely safe if you are suffering from celiac disease or gluten allergy.

    The powder is packed with amino acids, which means that it boosts the recovery of muscles after workouts.

    The powder is available in many delicious flavors, too. It might be a little gritty in texture, as it does not have soy lecithin, an ingredient that makes protein powder soluble for a smooth texture.

    b) Bodylogix

    This powder is a mix of isolate, hydrolysate, and concentrate of whey protein.

    Plus, the package clearly mentions that it is gluten free. In addition, it also contains no sugar.

    Instead, the sweetener used in this protein supplement is stevia. So it is ideal for those looking to cut off sugar and gluten completely.

    Thats not all. To ensure complete safety, the protein is extracted from the milk of grass-fed cows only, and is formulated without artificial flavoring or coloring agents.

    It is also preferred because of the reduced lactose content in it. The powder dissolves easily in liquid and is available in many flavors.

    c) GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey

    Shake it or stir it the texture of the drink will always be smooth because the powder dissolves really well in liquid.

    Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein

    Advertised as “zero gluten, zero gimmicks,” Body Fortress is made from a blend of whey protein concentrate and whey protein isolate. It also includes what it calls its “super recovery blend” of pure amino acids.

    The product is available in: vanilla, chocolate, banana creme, chocolate peanut butter, cinnamon swirl, cookes ‘n creme , and strawberry. All flavors are considered gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million look for the “gluten-free” designation on the label right below the ingredients. Body Fortress does contain soy lecithin .

    You May Like: How Can I Get Protein Without Fat

    How To Tell If Whey Protein Is Gluten

    Any whey protein powder manufacturer may place a label on their product claiming that its gluten-free, but starting in 2014 the FDA required that the product meet certain standards with regard to a gluten-free product.

    In order for any product to claim that it is gluten-free, it must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. This is the lowest level that can actually be detected in food by formal testing.

    Its important to remember that while there are standards for claiming a product is gluten-free, there are no standards on what the actual label looks like. It might differ from product to product depending on the manufacturer.

    Here is an example of ON Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder with a gluten-free label.

    Amazing Grass Organic Plant Based Vegan Protein Superfood Powder

    Amazon.com: Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein ...

    This protein powder contains 20g of protein from organic pea protein, quinoa, hemp, and chia. You can expect 120 calories plus 1 gram of sugar per serving with nutrient-dense fruits and veggies.

    This is a great protein powder option for those on a gluten-free dairy-free diet as its certified USDA organic and non-GMO.

    As you can see, there are plenty of high-quality options for a gluten-free dairy-free protein powder out there. I encourage you to try one or a few to find one you love.

    You may even consider looking for smaller sample sizes of these protein powder options to test them out if you want to sample them before investing in a whole tub.

    If youre interested in learning more about the types of protein powders and how to choose one for you, or if protein shakes are more your style, be sure to check out this post: Dairy-free Protein Powders and Shakes

  • Add all ingredients to a blender. Blend on high for 30-60 seconds until smooth.
  • Transfer to a glass and serve.
  • Don’t Miss: What Does It Mean To Be Fat Protein Efficient

    Benefits Of Gluten Free Protein Powder

    People use protein supplements like protein powder to boost muscle building and manage weight. Protein is the building block for muscle. The body also needs protein to produce hormones, enzymes and other chemicals. For those seeking to build muscle mass, the essential amino acids more specifically, the branched-chain amino acids in protein are used by the body to alleviate fatigue, help improve athletic performance and stimulate muscle recovery after exercise.

    The benefits of gluten free protein powder are the same as any other protein powder. You shouldnt let a gluten intolerance stop you from using a protein powder to get the most out of your workout. Simply make sure you choose a protein powder third party tested to ensure it is gluten free.

    Purely Inspired Organic Protein Powder

    This protein powder is an excellent choice with 20g of plant-based protein from organic pea protein and organic brown rice.

    With no artificial sweeteners, colors, or flavors, you can ensure youre getting high-quality protein from organic ingredients from both fruits and vegetables and are all non-GMO.

    This option has 7 grams of fiber, 2 grams of sugar, and 130 calories and blends up easily into a smooth texture.

    Don’t Miss: How Much Protein Should You Have In One Day

    Orgain Organic Plant Based Protein Powder

    This gluten-free product contains 21 g of organic protein blend from pea, brown rice, and chia seeds per 150 calorie serving. Additional nutritional values per serving include 5 g of fiber. This protein powder does not contain any added sugar or artificial ingredients.

    Orgain states that the product is USDA-certified organic, Kosher, and suitable for those who follow a vegan and dairy, lactose, or soy-free diet. It is available in vanilla bean flavor.

    The company recommends people mix 2 scoops of protein powder with liquid or while baking.

    In addition to protein, it contains 3 g of fiber, 1 g of omega-3 ALA, and 11 vitamins per serving. Vega states that this product is non-GMO and suitable for those following a vegan diet. Additionally, this protein powder is soy and dairy-free, low glycemic, and contains no additives.

    The company recommends that people keep this product chilled and shake well before drinking.

    Vega Protein Shake is available in vanilla and chocolate flavors.

    Is Whey Protein Gluten

    Gluten-free pancakes with BiPro whey protein

    Whey itself is gluten-free. Whey is simply a byproduct of cows milk in the process of cheesemaking. Glutenous ingredients may be added to whey protein powder, but you can always check for gluten-free labels.

    This is fortunate for gluten-intolerant people because whey protein powder is generally regarded as one of the best protein powders. There are plenty of good options, though, which you can read about in our complete protein powder guide.

    You May Like: What Is The Best Protein Shake For Women’s Weight Loss

    What Is Whey Protein Exactly

    Youve seen the big 5-pound jugs in the supplement shops and the boutique pouches in the grocery store. You may even see tiny individual servings samples handed out at events or gyms. Whey protein is everywhere, but what the heck is it, anyway?

    For a refresher, protein is one of the big three macronutrients that make up the majority of our nutrition, alongside carbohydrates and fat. Its responsible for repairing our muscles after we put them through the wear and tear of a workout or just going about daily life.

    Protein is also key for cellular activity and helps boost important functions in the body such as metabolism and immunity. We cant live without it! Thats why doctors recommend we get around 0.8 grams of protein per pound of bodyweight every day, especially when were active.

    However, if you do some quick math, youll find that protein requirement to be rather high much more than the standard American diet provides. Most of our foods are carb-heavy, and protein-packed foods are not so readily accessible for quick and easy snacks.

    Enter whey protein powder, a convenient product that packs over 20g of protein in a single serving and only takes a couple of minutes to prepare. It’s most commonly found in powder form, and shakes or treats made with whey protein can help increase and maintain muscle mass while keeping fat mass low.

    What If Youre Not Gluten Intolerant

    There is a lack of significant compelling evidence to suggest that going gluten-free will improve your health or prevent disease if you dont have celiac disease or experience any symptoms from eating gluten.

    In fact, a gluten-free diet can be lower in certain nutrients like fiber, iron, folate, niacin, vitamin B-12, calcium, riboflavin, and zinc. This is because many gluten-containing cereals and bread products are fortified with many of these vital nutrients .

    However, some research suggests that gluten can be problematic and worsen symptoms of Irritable bowel syndrome, inflammatory bowel disease, and other inflammation-related diseases such as fibromyalgia and arthritis. Research points to the fact that gluten can weaken the intestinal lining and alter gut bacteria .

    If you are following a gluten-free diet regardless of whether or not you have celiac disease its important to ensure you are eating a balanced diet rich in whole foods such as lean protein, healthy fats, whole grains, fruits, and vegetables .

    Many may benefit from incorporating certain supplements to meet their needs, such as whey protein. Continue reading to see if whey protein might be right for you on a gluten-free diet.

    Don’t Miss: What Is The Best Type Of Vegan Protein Powder

    Popular Articles

    Related Articles